Event Coverage

EQD Announces Winners Of 2020 Awards

Mar 12, 2020

By Elinor Comlay,
managing editor

EQD is pleased to announce the recipients of our annual EQD Awards. The nomination categories focus on innovation and performance by hedge funds and institutional investors active in volatility, multi-asset and systematic investing during 2019. Below are the winners of our nomination categories:

  • Systematic Investment Consultant Of The Year
    MJ Hudson
  • Multi-Asset Fund Manager Of The Year
    Man AHL TargetRisk
  • Volatility Fund Manager Of The Year
  • Overlay Manager Of The Year
  • Macro Fund Manager Of The Year
    NN Investment Partners
  • Multi-Strategy Fund Manager Of The Year
    Nomura Alternative Investment Management
  • Fund Launch Of The Year
    Aberdeen Standard Investments
  • Alternative Risk Premia Manager Of The Year
    Lombard Odier Investment Managers
  • Global Systematic Manager Of The Year
  • Systematic Investing Research Paper Of The Year
    Value by Design? – Stephan Kessler (Morgan Stanley), Bernd Scherer (EDHEC), Jan Philipp Harries (University of Wuppertal)

Previously announced winners include:

  • The Outstanding Contribution Award
    Sofiène Haj-Taieb, CEO, LFIS
  • Institutional Investor Of The Year
    Kari Vatanen, chief investment officer, Veritas
  • Innovation In Institutional Investing Award
    APG Asset Management
  • Portfolio Construction Initiative Of The Year
    BT Pension Scheme Management
  • Systematic Allocation Team Of The Year
    Forsta AP-fonden (AP1)
  • Wealth Management Quantitative Initiative Of The Year
    China Minsheng Bank
  • Systematic Asset Management Team Of The Year
    BBVA Asset Management
  • Special mention Of Pioneering Research In Asset Allocation
    A Step Toward a Cybernetic Whale: An Interim Report on A Study on the Use of Artificial Intelligence for Learning Characteristics of Funds’ Behavior – Sony Computer Science Laboratories, Inc. & the Government Pension Investment Fund

The EQD Hall Of Fame

The Hall Of Fame recognizes those individuals that have led the line in volatility, multi-asset and alternative risk premia as well as other systematic strategies throughout their careers. Those inducted have contributed to increased education among institutional investors, portfolio managers and traders, have been at the forefront of innovation and ultimately brought increased liquidity to markets.

2020 Inductees

  • Alexandrina Sapunova, UBS
  • Antti Kari, Morgan Stanley
  • Brendan Walsh, Franklin Templeton
  • Catherine Pollock, 36 South
  • Chloi Karyda, Goldman Sachs
  • Clément Leturgie, Lombard Odier
  • Delphine Leblond-Limpalaer, Société Générale
  • El Mehdi Benhmade, Eisler Capital
  • Henrik Nordestgaard, PFA
  • Jake Weinig, Malachite Capital Management
  • Jérôme Teiletche, Unigestion
  • Joanne McCourt, Credit Suisse
  • Johan Ekstrom, Citigroup
  • Jose Mazoy, Santander Asset Management
  • Kim Berg, Barclays
  • Maia Mathieson, Macquarie
  • Maitane Goicoechea, BBVA Asset Management
  • Maria Penaloza, J.P.Morgan
  • Matthias Moch, Suva
  • Natasha Sibley, Janus Henderson
  • Nate Newlin, Gladius Capital Management
  • Ni Chen, China Minsheng Bank
  • Niels Christensen, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Ramon Tol, Blue Sky Group
  • Raphael Sobotka, Amundi
  • Sebastian Rohm, Union Investment
  • Tatjana Xenia Puhan, TOBAM
  • Tina Rydberg, Nomura
  • Valery Bloud, BNP Paribas
  • Yun Li, Aberdeen Standard Investments